Wichita State stops Gonzaga, Nuggets stereak at 15, Tiger leads at Bay Hill, Nascar + Saturday Recap: Sunday, March 24, 2013

Shocker threes doom Gonzga, St Louis falls to Oregon

Wichita State drilled a season high 14 three-pointers as the Shockers upset top-seeded Gonzaga 76-70 in Salt Lake City. It was a game of runs as Wichita State bolted out to a 36-31 halftime lead. Gonzaga used a 12-0 run to take a 49-41 lead but WSU closed the game on a 35-21 spurt to close the show. The Shocker bench outscored its starters 50-26.

In other Saturday tournament action, Michigan crushed Virginia Commonwealth 78-53. Midwest top seed Louisville easily dispatched Colorado State 82-56. Marquette edged Butler 74-72. No.4 seed St Louis became Oregon’s second straight victim as the Ducks cruised to 74-57 win over the Billikens.

Highlights of Wichita States upset of top seeded Gonzaga

Denver downs Sacramento for 15th straight

Lost in all the hoopla of the Miami Heat’s 25-game winning streak is the Denver Nuggets franchise record run of 15 straight wins. The Nuggets used a 31-24 final quarter to turn back Sacramento 101-95. Dailo Galinari led six Nuggets in double-figures with 19 points. Kenneth Faried, the Manimal, added 17 points and 9 boards. DeMarcus Cousins had 24/15 for the Kings who weer held below the century mark for just the third time in their last 20 games.

The Memphis Grizzlies have lost center Marc Gasol indefinitely with an abdominal tear. Gasol originally sustained the injury back on March 6th but re-aggravated the injury in Friday night’s loss at New Orleans.

Tiger leads at Bay Hill

Tiger Woods rebounded from Friday’s 70 with a 6-under 66 to take a two-shot lead heading into the final round at the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill. Rickie Fowler, John Huh and Justin Rose are tall tied for second two shots back. Thirteen players including Jimmy Walker and Keegan Bradley are within five shots.

Hamlin is on the pole at Fontana

Jimmie Johnson #48 +550
Kyle Busch #18 +700
Matt Kenseth #20 +850
Kasey Kahne #5 +900
Brad Keselowski #2 +900
Tony Stewart #14 +1100
Denny Hamlin #11 +1200
Kevin Harvick #29 +1200
Jeff Gordon #24 +1200
Carl Edwards #99 +1200
Dale Earnhardt Jr. #88 +1200
Greg Biffle #16 +1400
Clint Bowyer #15 +2200
Mark Martin #55 +2500
Martin Truex Jr. #56 +2500

Dake the first to win four NCAA wrestling titles at four weights

Cornell’s Kyle Dake has become the first wrestler in NCAA history to win four national championships at four different weight classes. Dake had won at the 141, 149, and 157 pound weight classes before beating defending 165 champion David Taylor 5-4 for his fourth title. Dake joins Cael Sanderson and Pat Smith as the only four-time winners. Penn State won this year’s team championship for the third consecutive year.

Free Play

(NCAAB) Temple +11.5 over Indiana (Sunday, March 24, 2:45 PM EST )